We are proud to announce that Space Rocks won its second accolade in two years this week at the prestigious annual Sir Arthur Clarke Awards, held by the British Interplanetary Society (BIS).


Space Rocks founders Alexander Milas and ESA’s Mark McCaughrean were given the Space Achievement Education & Outreach Team Award by BIS members. The Sir Arthur Clarke Awards recognise and reward those individuals and teams that have made notable or outstanding achievements in, or contributions to, all British space activities. Better known as ‘The Arthurs’, they are named after famed 2001 author, Sir Arthur C. Clarke. One of the organisation’s most beloved members, the late Sir Arthur originally joined the British Interplanetary Society in 1934 when he was still a teenager.


The awards have been presented annually since 2005. The award ceremony – which takes place in a different British city each year – was held at the British Interplanetary Society’s Reinventing Space Conference Gala Dinner in Belfast’s International Convention Centre.


“It’s a huge honour,” said Alexander Milas. “It’s not every day you accept an award from one of the most prestigious and oldest organisations of its kind in the world – which is named after one of the most beloved sci-fi authors of all time. I’m so proud to work with the many people who have made this possible through their support and belief and working with us. Especially my partners, friends and family who believed in it from the beginning.”


“We’re blown away to receive such an honour,” added Mark McCaughrean. “This is for everyone involved onstage and behind the scenes at our events: thank you.”


It was a night made even more special for Space Rocks with Anna Phoebe and vocalist Anil Sebastian performing Anna’s new composition Between Worlds: There Is No Planet B which they debuted at Space Rocks London this September. Thanks of course goes to all Space Rocks friends and followers without whom none of this would have been possible.


The Sir Arthur Clarke Award now takes pride of place alongside our Prog Award for 2018 Event Of The Year!