UPLINK 24: THE POLITICS OF REAL & FICTIONAL WORLDS WITH THE EXPANSE ACTOR SHOHREH AGHDASHLOO

RESCHEDULED! Due to last week’s internet blackout in LA, we’ll be re-joined on Friday 25th September for Uplink 24: The Politics of Real and Fictional Worlds with award-winning The Expanse actor Shohreh Aghdashloo. We’ll be discussing how sci-fi can help highlight real-world social issues. Starting with The Expanse, how can a story set in a distant future help us cope with and explore issues of social and environmental justice? We’ll be live from 8pm (BST) / 9pm (CEST) / 12PM (PDT) here (don’t forget to subscribe).

 

Shohreh Aghdashloo

Shohreh Aghdashloo is an Emmy Award–winning, Oscar-nominated actor whose prolific work on stage and screen has been lauded for decades in both her native Iran and all over the world, especially in her adopted home, the United States. American audiences know her best from her Oscar-nominated performance in House Of Sand And Fog and her Emmy-winning role in HBO’s acclaimed House Of Saddam.

 

Shohreh is a familar fans to sci-fi fans and she can currently be seen starring in the futuristic TV series The Expanse – based on the popular New York Times bestselling book series of the same name. Shohreh plays the character Chrisjen Avasarala, a smart and passionate member of a political family legacy who has risen high in the ranks of Earth’s governing body.

 

Shohreh’s prestigious TV credits include: 24, Grimm, Grey’s Anatomy, House MD, Law & Order: SVU, Portlandia, Will & Grace, among many others. Shohreh’s work in film includes blockbusters such as: Star Trek: Beyond, X-Men – The Last Stand and The Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants Part 2.

 

Join us on Friday at 8pm (BST) / 9pm (CEST) to watch and join in at our Youtube channel. You can also catch past episodes of Uplink and subscribe for news about forthcoming editions.