UPLINK 34: WE, ROBOTS WITH SCI-FI FILM DIRECTOR GAVIN ROTHERY

Join us on Thursday 7th January for Uplink 34 with Space Rocks London Live 2018 alumnus, sci-fi film director Gavin Rothery! The sci fi visionary and celebrated co-creator of Moon joins us to discuss the future of robotics, artificial intelligence, and the curious and important issues raised by his upcoming sci-fi thriller Archive. We’ll be live from 8pm (GMT) / 9pm (CET) / 3pm (EST) here (don’t forget to subscribe).

 

Gavin’s directorial debut, Archive received warm reviews when released in the US last July. Due for release in the UK this month, it stars Theo James, Stacy Martin, Rhona Mitra, Peter Ferdinando and Toby Jones. It’s set in the year 2038 and follows a scientist who is trying to advance artificial intelligence a step further than human beings – all while bringing his wife back from the dead. You can watch the trailer here.

 

A movie concept artist, writer, and director specialising in science fiction, Gavin’s career started as an illustrator and comic artist. He started working in the games industry in 1996. His skills for graphic design and visual effects led into advertising and then film. Along with director Duncan Jones, he was co-creator of the acclaimed 2009 sci-fi movie Moon, on which he worked as Concept Artist and VFX Supervisor. Gavin also designed starships for the multiplayer space trading and combat simulation game, Star Citizen. Archive is Gavin’s directorial debut, which he also wrote.

 

Join us on Thursday at 8pm (GMT) / 9pm (CET) / 3pm (EST) to watch and join in at our Youtube channel. You can also catch past episodes of Uplink and subscribe for news about forthcoming editions.