UPLINK 37: POLAR NIGHTS & MIDNIGHT SUN

Join us on Thursday 4th February for Uplink 37 with Science Communicator, Sævar Helgi Bragason and Extreme Environments Doctor, Beth Healey. We’ll be looking at the beauty and wonder of the night sky during extreme conditions, from two people who’ve seen it first-hand. We’ll be live from 8pm (GMT) / 9pm (CET) / 3pm (EST) here (don’t forget to subscribe).

 

Sævar Helgi Bragason is a science communicator, educator, author, TV and radio host based in Iceland.  He has written three books on stargazing and astronomy, hosted TV series on science and environmental science, specifically climate change. He currently teaches astronomy at a local high school and, in a normal year, shows tourists stars and auroras in the darkness of winter. Sævar is also the Iceland outreach representative for UNAWE and ESO.

 

Beth Healey will be known to Space Rocks regulars. Beth held a fascinating talk at the inaugural Space Rocks London live in 2018 and she was also our very first guest for Uplink episode 01, with tips for coping with isolation at the start of Covid-19 lockdown. Beth is a UK trained doctor who overwintered in Antarctica as research MD for the European Space Agency at spaceflight analogue Concordia ‘White Mars’. A fellow of the Royal Geographical Society with an interest in polar environments she has worked as part of logistical and medical support teams for ski mountaineering expeditions and endurance races in Svalbard, Greenland, Siberia and at the North Pole. Concordia Station, Antarctica, is a spaceflight analogue, ‘White Mars’, in view of its isolation, inaccessibility, altitude, low light levels and skeleton crew. Beth is currently at Bath ITU.  

 

Join us on Thursday at 8pm (GMT) / 9pm (CET) / 3pm (EST) to watch and join in at our Youtube channel. You can also catch past episodes of Uplink and subscribe for news about forthcoming editions.