UPLINK 43: A LIFE ON STAGE AND SCREEN

Join us on Thursday 25th March for Uplink 43 with singer, songwriter, film score composer and Toto singer, Joseph Williams when we’ll be discussing his work as frontman for prog rock band Toto and solo music career, as well as his soundtracking work for Return of the Jedi and TV. We’ll be live from 8pm GMT / 9pm CET / 4pm EDT so set yourself a reminder here (and don’t forget to subscribe).

 

Joseph’s new single Liberty Man, taken from his latest solo album, Denizen Tenant, is out now. As lead vocalist for the prog rock band Toto at various stages since the late 1980s, he featured on the albums Fahrenheit (1986) and The Seventh One (1988). Joseph was the writer of the original English lyrics for the songs Lapti Nek (Jabba’s Palace Band) and Ewok Celebration from the original 1983 release of Return of the Jedi, which was scored and conducted by his father, John Williams. He also performed the role of the singing voice of the adult Simba in 1994’s The Lion King, on the songs Hakuna Matata and Can You Feel The Love Tonight. Achieving success as a TV and film soundtrack composer in the late 90s and early 00s, Joseph is an Emmy Award nominated film composer. He was the composer for multiple episodes of Roswell, The Lyon’s Den and Miracles. In 2010, Joseph returned to Toto as lead singer for its reformation and performed on the band’s live albums and the 2015 studio album, Toto XIV. When the group disbanded in 2019 and subsequently reformed in 2020, he was the only member from the previous lineup besides sole continuous founding member of Toto, guitarist Steve Lukather, to return. Denizen Tenant is Joseph’s eleventh studio album and is out now.

 

Join us on Thursday at 8pm GMT / 9pm CET / 4pm EDT to watch and join in at our Youtube channel. You can also catch past episodes of Uplink and subscribe for news about forthcoming editions.