UPLINK 44: STRANGE NEW WORLDS

Join us on Thursday 8th April for Uplink 44 with exoplanet scientist and Nobel Prize winner, Didier Queloz. We’ll be discussing his hunt for exoplanets and what they can tell us about what’s out there, especially in relation to the uniqueness of our own world. Live from 7pm BST / 8pm CEST / 2pm EDT so set yourself a reminder here (and don’t forget to subscribe).

 

Swiss astronomer Didier Queloz is at the origin of the exoplanet revolution in astrophysics when in 1995 during his PhD with his supervisor they announced the first discovery of a giant planet orbiting another star, outside the solar system. This seminal discovery has spawned a revolution in astronomy and kick started the field of exoplanet research. In the course of his career, Didier developed astronomical equipment, new observational approaches and detection algorithms. He participated and conducted programs leading to the detection of hundreds of planets. He participated in numerous documentaries, movies, articles, TV and radio interviews to share excitement and promote interest in science, particularly topics about exoplanets and life in the universe. This January, Didier was appointed to the Jacksonian Professorship of Natural Philosophy in the University of Cambridge. he is also Professor in Astronomy at the University of Geneva. He has been jointly awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics along with Professor James Peebles and Professor Michel Mayor.

 

Join us on Thursday at 7pm BST / 8pm CEST / 2pm EDT to watch and join in at our Youtube channel. You can also catch past episodes of Uplink and subscribe for news about forthcoming editions. Don’t forget you can also sign up to our new weekly newsletter MISSION UPDATE right here!