Join us on Thursday 15th July for Uplink episode 53 when we’ll be joined by Jem Godfrey and John Mitchell of prog rock supergroup Frost* when we’ll be discussing the intersection of science, music, and science fiction with two of the most passionate and accomplished artists we know. Fans of Space Rocks will of course already recognise John Mitchell as the founding frontperson of Lonely Robot, who headlined Space Rocks London Live in 2018. With a name inspired by a Mars rover and sprawling concept albums covering the expanses of time and space, he’s the personification of what so much of Space Rocks is about. Along with Jem Godfrey – a committed Whovian responsible for some of the most intelligent and thought-provoking music of our age – it’s set to be a fascinating conversation.

Our chat will premiere on our Youtube channel at 8pm BST / 9pm CEST / 3pm EDT. You can set yourself a reminder here (and don’t forget to subscribe).


Frost* are an English neo progressive rock supergroup, formed in 2004 by Ivor Novello Award-winning songwriter, producer, keyboardist and vocalist, Jem Godfrey. The band released their debut studio album Milliontown in 2006 which featured John Mitchell (of the bands It Bites, Arena, Kino, A, The Urbane and Lonely Robot) on guitar, John Jowitt (Ark, IQ, Arena, Jadis) on bass and Andy Edwards (IQ) on drums. They split up, but in 2008 Godfrey reformed the band, adding Darwin’s Radio vocalist and guitarist Declan Burke and they released their second album, Experiments in Mass Appeal the same year, then live album The Philadelphia Experiment in 2009. The band disbanded again in 2011, but reunited after a brief hiatus.


Their third studio album Falling Satellites dropped in 2016. Nathan King (Level 42, It Bites, The Blockheads) replaced Jowitt on bass, along with drummer Craig Blundell. Released to critical acclaim, the album also featured legendary guitarist Joe Satriani, who’s toured with Mick Jagger, Deep Purple and Alice Cooper.


Frost* recently released their fourth album, Day And Age in May of this year. Jem Godfrey, John Mitchell and Nathan King recorded the album over the course of 2019 and 2020, along with guest drummers Kaz Rodriguez (Chaka Khan, Josh Groban), Darby Todd (The Darkness, Martin Barre), and Pat Mastelotto (mister Mister, King Crimson). The spokenword vocal on the track The Boy Who Stood Still was performed by actor and Space Rocks London live 2019 host, Jason Isaacs.


Join us on Thursday at 8pm BST / 9pm CEST / 3pm EDT to watch and join in at our Youtube channel. You can also catch past episodes of Uplink and subscribe for news about forthcoming editions. Don’t forget you can also sign up to our new weekly newsletter MISSION UPDATE right here!