UPLINK 54: PRIVATE SPACE, PUBLIC CONSEQUENCES

Join us a day earlier for this week’s Uplink – on Wednesday 21st July. Our guests will be science journalist Shannon Stirone and astrophysicist Jonathan McDowell, and we’ll be discussing billionaires and sub-orbital flights, space tourism, and the wider topic of private and public space exploration. We’ll be live from 8pm (BST) / 9pm (CEST) / 3pm (EDT). You can set yourself a reminder here.

 

Shannon Stirone is a New York-based freelance science journalist whose work covers the intersection of space exploration and humanity. Her writing has been featured in The New York Times, The Atlantic, Washington Post, Longreads, Esquire, The New Republic, National Geographic, Rolling Stone Magazine, Wired, amongst others.

Regular Uplink viewers will remember astrophysicist Jonathan McDowell from episode 23: The Struggle For Space. Jonathan is an astronomer at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics in Massachusetts and a staff member at the Chandra X-Ray Center. The Chandra X-ray Observatory (CXO) was launched aboard Space Shuttle Columbia in 1999 and continues to investigate the high-energy Universe. Jonathan’s main areas of research include the cosmic microwave background, galaxy mergers, and quasars. In his spare time, he researches the history of spaceflight and for 30 years he has produced Jonathan’s Space Report, an email newsletter documenting satellite launches. He is a frequent media commentator on satellite launches and spaceflight. The asteroid 4589 McDowell is named after him. 

 

Join us on Wednesday at 8pm BST / 9pm CEST / 3pm EDT to watch and join in at our Youtube channel. You can also catch past episodes of Uplink and subscribe for news about forthcoming editions. Don’t forget you can also sign up to our new weekly newsletter MISSION UPDATE right here!